Search This Blog

Tuesday, October 27, 2009

A list about novels that won the Booker Prize.

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, also known in short as the Booker Prize, is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of either the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe.The winner of the Booker Prize is generally assured of international renown and success and, for this reason, the prize is of great significance for the book trade.

12.Life of Pi - Yann Martel -Canada - Winner in 2002

11.The Inheritance of Loss -Kiran Desai - India - Winner in 2006

10. The Sea, the Sea -Iris Murdoch - Ireland/United Kingdom- Winner in 1978

9.Oscar and Lucinda - Peter Carey - Australia - winner in 1988

8.The White Tiger - Aravind Adiga - India - winner in 2008

7.The God of Small Things - Arundhati Roy -India - Winner in 1997

6.The English Patient - Michael Ondaatje - Sri Lanka/Canada - winner in 1992

5.Possession: A Romance - A.S. Byatt - United Kingdom -Winner in 1990

4.The Remains of the Day - Kazuo Ishiguro - United Kingdom/Japan - Winner in 1989

Rites of Passage - William Golding - United Kingdom - winner in 1980

2.Disgrace - J.M. Coetzee - South Africa - winner in 1999

1.Midnight's Children -Salman Rushdie - India - Winner in 1981

No comments:

Post a Comment